Sunday, July 1, 2012

Single Of The Day: Jay-Z & Kanye West - No Church In The Wild (Featuring Frank Ocean)

"No Church In The Wild" is a song by American hip hop artists Kanye West and Jay-Z from their first collaborative album "Watch The Throne". It is the first track on the album and features vocals from Frank Ocean and The-Dream, although the latter is uncredited for his contribution to the song. The song explores themes of religion and decadence. The track received highly positive reviews from music critics, who praised Ocean's vocal hooks, the depth of the verses, the cinematic production and the songs power as opening track. Rolling Stone named "No Church In The Wild" the sixth best song of 2011.

The track was released as the seventh and currently final song from Watch the Throne. The song peaked at #72 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 and entered the top 40 on both the U.S. Billboard Hot Rap Songs and Hot R&B / Hip-Hop Songs charts. The song received a music video directed by Romain Gavras released on 29 May 2012. The video does not feature any of the performers featured on the song and instead features riot anarchic riot footage and large street fights. The video received positive reviews from critics who praised the visuals of the video and the unique aesthetic presented in the video.

Jay-Z and West performed the song as part of the setlist of their Watch the Throne Tour and Ocean performed his portion of the song on several different occasions during his November 2011 tour through North America and Europe. "No Church In The Wild" was featured in the trailers for the action film Safe House and the 2012 film adaptation of The Great Gatsby.

It was released as digital single on 20 March 2012 by Roc-A-Fella Records, Roc Nation Records and Def Jam Records. This hip-hop song was written by Kanye West, Shawn Carter, Charles Njapa, Michael Dean, Christopher Francis, Terius Nash, Gary Wright, Phil Manzanera, James Brown and Joseph Roach.

No comments:

Post a Comment