Friday, August 10, 2007

Album Review: Ricky Martin - Ricky Martin

Puerto Rican recording artist Ricky Martin released his fifth album "Ricky Martin" on 11 May 1999 under Columbia Records. There are five singles from this album, "Livin' La Vida Loca", "She's All I Ever Had", "Shake Your Bon-Bon" and "Private Emotion".

In a contemporary review for The Village Voice, music critic Robert Christgau gave Ricky Martin a "C" and dismissed its "slicked-up rhythm workouts and romantic pap" as conventional tactics from "one more crappy pop star". Rolling Stone magazine's James Hunter gave it three out of five stars and felt it lacks the excitement of Ricky Martin's 1998 album "Vuelve" because of its remixes and Diane Warren-penned songs. However, he said that Martin's take on Latin pop is made interesting enough by highlights such as "Livin' La Vida Loca", "Shake Your Bon-Bon" and the perfectly constructed ballad sung with Madonna. In a retrospective review for AllMusic, senior editor Stephen Thomas Erlewine gave the album four out of five stars and said that despite moments of filler and outdated production, its songs are balanced well between uptempo dance-pop songs, power ballads, and midtempo pop songs on a big, bold album with something to please everyone, from his longtime Latin fans to housewives with a weakness for dramatic ballads.

01. Livin' La Vida Loca
02. Spanish Eyes
03. She's All I Ever Had
04. Shake Your Bon-Bon
05. Be Careful (Cuidado Co Mi Corazon) (Featuring Madonna)
06. I Am Made Of You
07. Love You For A Day
08. Private Emotion (Featuring Meja)
09. The Cup Of Life
10. You Stay With Me
11. Livin' La Vida Loca [Spansih Version]
12. I Count The Minutes
13. Bella
14. Maria

No comments:

Post a Comment